Ohio Historic Site Preservation Advisory Board

The 17-member Ohio Historic Site Preservation Advisory Board is appointed by the governor to advise the State Historic Preservation Officer and the Ohio History Connection Board of Trustees on historic preservation issues. The advisory board evaluates the significance of properties nominated to the National Register of Historic Places and makes recommendations to the State Historic Preservation Officer. The advisory board meets four times a year. The board includes a majority of professionals such as architects, historians, planners, architectural historians, archaeologists, and public members from around the state who have expertise in Ohio history, architecture, and archaeology. Board members demonstrate a knowledge of and interest in historic preservation.

The advisory board reviews National Register nominations for 30-50 buildings, sites, structures, objects, and historic districts each year. Additionally, the board advises the State Historic Preservation Officer on the distribution of Certified Local Government grant funds for historic preservation projects in Ohio communities.

Current Ohio Historic Site Preservation Advisory Board Members

  1. Paul Graham, Columbus, Archaeologist
  2. Clyde Henry, Orient, Architect
  3. Stacey L. Hoffman, Cleveland Heights, Planner
  4. Sandra C. Hull, Wooster, Public Member
  5. Tom Johnson, Somerset, Public Member
  6. Amy Kramb, Dublin, Architectural Historian
  7. Janet Krebs, Camden, Public Member
  8. J. Jeffrey McNealey, Columbus
  9. Mary Ann Olding, Cincinnati, Architectural Historian
  10. Jamie Oxendine, Toledo, Public Member
  11. Daniel M. Rice, Cuyahoga Falls, Public Member
  12. Elwin Robison, Kent, Architectural Historian

Schedule of Meetings and Submission Deadlines