Visitors can experience the life of the agrarian Separatists by visiting the ten restored buildings (Number One House, Kitchen/Magazine Complex, Garden House, Bakery, Tinshop, Dairy, Wagon Shop, Blacksmith Shop and Zoar Store), which are staffed with costumed interpreters and furnished with items made or used by the Separatists. Some buildings are staffed, others open by guided tour. Volunteers give craft demonstrations during the many yearly special events. See below for more information on each building.
ZOAR STORE, built in 1833. Also housing the Post Office, the store was a center of the community and drew customers from outside Zoar as well. Both Zoar products and goods produced outside the village were sold here; today, the store sells tour tickets and nineteenth-century reproduction wares. An introductory video also is shown here.
THE NUMBER ONE HOUSE, built in 1835. This impressive two-story, Georgian-style house once was the home of Zoar Society leader Joseph Baumeler and two other families. Initially planned as a shelter for the aged and infirm, the home has a cool, deep cellar where food and provisions for the entire community were stored. The house also featured examples of Zoar furniture and crafts.
GARDEN AND GREENHOUSE built in 1835. The formal garden spreads over an entire village square in a geometric plan based upon the Separatists’ Biblically inspired nineteenth-century design. The greenhouse, with attached gardener’s residence, boarders the garden’s north edge.
BAKERY built in 1845,. Zoar Society members came once a day to this shop to receive, free of charge, as many loaves of bread as they needed. The Bakery’s brick ovens absorbed heat from the fires built within; ashes were then removed and the loaves were placed directly on the hearth. Demonstrations using the Bakery’s ovens occur periodically, featuring baking of bread, pretzels, and gingerbread.
TINSHOP, originally built in 1825. The tinsmith worked in a small brick and timber building, a two-room shop where much of the metal ware used in Zoar was produced and repaired. Tin cups, buckets, pitchers, and mild pails ere made here; many of the items were sold in the Zoar Store. This reconstruction of the shop was built in 1970.
WAGONSHOP, originally built in 1840. Wagons and buggies were constructed here by the wheelwright, then fitted with iron parts from the Blacksmith Shop next door. Wooden parts for farm tools also were made in the Wagon Shop. This reconstruction of the shop was built in 1972.
BLACKSMITH SHOP, originally built in 1834. The blacksmith once produced everything from hinges to horseshoes. The charcoal-fired forge, with its huge bellows, stands just inside the door of the brick-paved shop, reconstructed in 1972.
DAIRY, built in 1841. Milk, cheese, and butter- products of the society’s herd of more than 100 cattle – ere prepared sand stored here. The diary worker, mostly women, may have lived on the second floor and in the attic.
KITCHEN, LAUNDRY, AND MAGAZINE, built in 1835, circa 1880, and 1851, respectively. The many residents of the Number One House used these outbu9ildings. The magazine was the storehouse and distribution point for goods to community households.
Private shops and residences occupy many of Zoars other original structures. While touring the village, visitors may browse in the shops and examine the exteriors of private homes from the streets and sidewalks.